Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - thankyoupeter

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9
1
Found and Lost / Lost at Liberty Hole 16
« on: August 21, 2014, 03:34:12 PM »
Threw a green Blizzard Katana somewhere over on the left side of the fairway in the tall grass past the downed tree.  Note to self, don't throw green discs on holes with thick, tall grass. 

2
Water Works / 08/21/14 - Water Works League
« on: August 21, 2014, 03:01:47 PM »
What time is league teeing off tonight? 

3
I say if kicking the bejezus out of that dead horse is wrong then I don't want to be right. Cuz it feels good and man does the commentary make me lol.There are many ways around the am/pro classification is our great game. You wanna be a dbag than some are gonna call you a dbag.

I would have played if I could, would I have been a bagger, probably, well maybe, ah probably not. I think I would have finished one spot ahead of steve dresser. Or one spot ahead of utz, all my caddies are degenerates.

Agreed.  I think the horse still has a bit of life left.  Better make sure it's finished off. 

4
::)   Under the conditions..pouring rain..Loomis did a pretty good job actually....The smoking ban. I was smoke free entire round, but I did see plenty of people smoking.I saw one player with a dog..thought that was against rules.Gum should be banned...no body likes stepping in gum...
i would love to hear loomis side of the story,loomis,loomis..............loomis



Please, don't start giving him some credit.  He knew exactly what he was doing.  The PDGA clearly has rules and regulations for inclement weather.  We didn't need to hear his version nor his delivery, added prose and indiscretions of other players too, added on.

An explanation is not warranted.

An apology is - to the entire disc golf community of the 2014 MAC @ Waterworks.


I don't know........



5
I'm with Lee, how is someone who is designated on the pdga classification as a professional and who has multiple wins and an large amount of cash from those wins able to play in an Am only tournament? He wasn't in my division so I'm just asking out of curiosity. Although I would be pissed if I had been beat by him. Just wondering how that works and why it was ok for him (and at least one other open masters player) to play this event.  Again, not a criticism, just asking for clarification.

If you're classified as a pro, but rated under 970, you can play in non-major AM events.  If you've never accepted cash or registered as a professional, you can continue to play AM regardless of your rating.  That's why there are always lots of guys who get up to 980-1000 but never take cash, play AM worlds, then turn pro. 

6
I think this is all a clever governmental type distraction to shift our focus from the real story of the tourney.

That the dude who won has over 10 grand in career earnings, including multiple pro master wins this year. Shame on him. I was feeling guilty about potentially playing (with my career $50 earnings) and i suck.

Yeah I can tell you there was some grumbling about that at the top of the advanced men division.  However, the bottom line is that he was eligible to play based on the current rules and shot lights out the second round, so not going to complain about someone playing within the rules. 

That being said, I would like to see the PDGA rules modified to avoid this type of action in the future, but I understand there are challenges involved. 

7
I teed off around 11:00 and the "throw from the woods OB" was not discussed.  The importance of the 3 minute rule and the pace of play was discussed.

8
I'm really curious as to why Loomis was giving the Sunday cards such a hard time.  I didn't see any of that on Saturday. 

9
It was a safety decision and ruled the same the entire day due to the tireless efforts of Pete Spotting down there.  You are correct in the rule interpretation, HOWEVER, this was conveyed and done the same manner so all the affected players in all the affected pools played it the same way.

SAFETY FIRST was clearly the motto on this rainy day and hence the immediate change.  It makes sense on that one.  Safety is first, it was really more of a position that created a fictional OB/optional line.  Similar to what I do at Cliff Drive on hole #12, where the player option on the hole can go to the drop zone (+1 stroke) instead of trampling down the hill for safety.  Makes sense, and speed of play improves.

Hmmm.  So a TD (or course coordinator) can designate a drop zone if a disc goes into an inbounds treacherous area, AND the player has the option to throw from their lie (if they can find it), or the drop zone?  A potential issue with this would seem to be the player who is determined to find their disc and play from their lie, regardless of the danger of the hill.  After 3 minutes of searching, is their disc considered lost, with the required throw from their previous lie plus one stroke?  Or can they still go to the drop zone after the 3 minutes have passed?  Or do they need to time the search and declare after 2 minutes and 59 seconds they are throwing from the drop zone (since that would be advantageous over re-teeing)? 

I have no problem taking safety into account, but I wonder if this "new" OB along the woods on hole 3 at WW was played the same way on Sunday .  For instance, if someone went 75' into the woods, they were probably happy to be throwing 3 from a meter outside of the woods.  However, if someone went 1' into the woods, did they have to option to play from their lie?  It just creates an odd situation where one player throwing might take a meter in from a fictional OB line and throw, then the next player throws from an area that was considered OB on the previous throw. 

10
I think free relief from dangerous lie was implied for the safety of players and taken by rec players in the rain at ww. it was tough spotting down there, and dangerous sidehills made for some messy muddy situations. also since billy nelson did not win his division he should stay an am until he does.

Ok I'm confused.  I know you can take optional relief with one penalty stroke, but I thought this had to be along the line of play, with the line of play being a straight line from your disc to the basket.  If you threw 50' down into the woods on hole 3 at WW, it seems the line of play would continue to extend back into the woods, with the exception of the open area that looks down into the KCMO water plant.  Optional relief isn't moving horizontally back into the fairway.  So here, if you threw into the woods and you didn't want to throw from your lie (or were unable to), it seems like your only option would be to re-tee throwing 3 (assuming that was where you threw down the hill from).  Am I missing something here? 

11

As for Loomis comments, I have already addressed them, I have never be as embarrassed about disc golf in Kansas City as I was on Sunday listening to him spew misinformation about the rules.  I have never ever in my 30+ years of playing ever heard someone go off on their own agenda with no consideration for the actual rules of play.  I know that Scott and DD have addressed it, and I talked with them about it directly.


What exactly was said here? 

12
What are the rules if a player misses his tee time?  Can he rejoin his card mid round after he missed that tee time?  I think this happened today.

If a player misses his tee time he can rejoin the card at any time.  However, the player will receive a score of par+4 on every hole that they miss.  Once everyone on the card has driven and is walking off the teepad, the late player cannot join the card until the next hole.

13
Thanks to Scott Reek and DDKC for putting on a great tourney, and thanks to all the volunteer staff and spotters as well.  I'm sure running a tourney with almost 300 people at two courses with rain delays was a real challenge, but you guys did a great job creating a tournament with a professional atmosphere.  I had a great time and the players pack was great, so thanks again for all your hard work. 

14
General Banter / 2014 Worlds
« on: July 31, 2014, 07:38:59 PM »
Did anyone see there's a GRAND LEGEND signed up for Pro Worlds?  And he's rated 880.  I hope I'm not taking at dirt nap at 90 and this guy is still ripping it. 

15
Found and Lost / Lost at WaterWorks Hole 1
« on: July 29, 2014, 06:06:08 PM »
Threw a thumber with a clear red Stiletto from the temp 1A tee to 1's long pin at Waterworks.  Thought it layed down by the hole, but it must have stood up and rolled.  Could be somewhere in the brush by 2's tee or 7's tee. 

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9