Ok, so I will admit that it is worded bad. On my last comment I tried to make it easy because I have more to worry about than one hole.. Or do I?
So here is the official rule and it will be on a temp tee sign on the hole (along with 18 because it applies here as well).
If you go OB before the Mando you will take it out where it went out of bounds. The only way to "miss" the mando would be to go right of the tree and come back in bounds. So if that happens you go to the drop zone. Once you have made it past the mando successfully and go OB you can play it where it went out of bounds. Hopefully that clears it up.
There is ONE possible way that this is still slightly confusing, let me see if I can muck it up.
You CAN miss the Mando, go OB, and come back in BOUNDS after the mando, in which case you missed Mando and got to the Drop Zone.
That is the reason there is a LINE from the Mando to the OB wall. You are IN BOUNDS, but MISSED the MANDO, (going to the RIGHT of the MANDO is missing it) therefor go back to Drop Zone.
That same shot hits the side of the wall and doesn't come back in bounds, you throw from the wall where it went out. The OUTER portion of the WALL IS OB.
You skip off the road, hit the pin on the peninsula, roll OB, you back to drop zone.
So if you throw it OB....skips off the road, comes back in BOUNDS past the Mando, but is IN Bounds, you go to the Drop Zone and take a penalty. (#17)
Whew, a lot can happen on that shot huh?
As worded above correctly, you can MAKE THE MANDO, only to have it SKIP OB (#18), and you would play it from last position IN Bounds.
Missing the Mando re tee on #18, you can......Hit the tree on the right side, go OB and still have a chance to make the mando on the left, thus throwing your shot from where it was last IN BOUNDS at. You can have the same thing happen on the LEFT Mando..... (I hit the MANDO tree on league, but stayed behind it, threw forehand, made mando, took my 3) only if the disc passes past the wrong side of the MANDO do you RE TEE (Drop Zone on #18 is RE-TEE).
Back to Back holes with some confusing possibilities, please know the ruling on them, it will save you strokes.
(corrected per "Too Tall" Guy)--Sarcasm will be missed by many but him..... :-D