Myself and Andy Portwood tied in the Rosedale Open and Kan-U-Wyco this last weekend.
At least we thought we tied at the WYCO, but we didn't actually tie, I shot 1 stroke less, which meant he beat me by a stroke.
Anyone confused? In the final round, my front 9 score added up to a 34, but was marked a 35. Don't worry I'm not mad at anyone but myself. I checked and initialed the card and when the official score was counted, the mistake was found. I then was given a 2-stroke penalty on top of my actual score per PDGA rule 805.02 section H, #2.
While I was pretty upset when I realized what happened, its not too big of a deal since it only dropped me from 3rd to 4th. If it dropped me into a 4-way tie for 5th, i'd be much more upset. Andy had been nothing but positive and fun to play with the whole round so If I was going to take a 2-stoke penalty, at least the now sole owner of 3rd place was deserving of it. It was a great weekend, and I was pretty happy with my play overall.
Congratulations Andy! I've now gone head to head with you 3 times, and can't seem to beat you.
I post this jokingly with a smile because it doesn't really matter that much in the grand scheme of things. Hopefully I will learn my lesson and never make the same mistake when there's more on the line. Moving forward, the most upsetting thing is that with the 2-stroke penalty, that round went from 911 rated to 898, I would have loved to shoot over 900 each round.
Remember to triple-check your scorecards people, even when you've played 4 rounds that weekend and you're physically and mentally drained. Just do all the calculations on your phone twice or however many times it takes to leave no doubt in your mind that the score on the card is accurate.
Please excuse the rant, but if just one person can learn from my mistake, then something good can come from my small misfortune.
For clarification of this rule see:http://www.pdga.com/rules/official-rules-disc-golf/805-tournament-procedures/80502-scoring