Author Topic: Baggin' it up at Bowling Green?  (Read 1023 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Steve the Quiz Berry

  • Am Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: Baggin' it up at Bowling Green?
« Reply #15 on: May 05, 2014, 10:28:30 PM »
 : ???.
.......
In 2012..The PDGA ..shows Tom Butler playing two tourneys in the Pro division...and receiving 40 dollars cash?.. I thought once you receive a cash payout...you could not play amateur anymore..?
Can someone explain this rule?

dickthediscparker

  • 1000 Rated Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3009
    • View Profile
Re: Baggin' it up at Bowling Green?
« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2014, 07:50:17 AM »
That only refers to Major events. Once you take cash in a Pro division you can not play Major Am events. So no Pro Am Worlds basically. Other than that, as long as your rating is low enough, you can play all the Am events you want.
..sS{Dick Parker}Zz...
Disc Golf Course Designer
Freelance Graphics Artist

Steve the Quiz Berry

  • Am Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: Baggin' it up at Bowling Green?
« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2014, 09:38:33 AM »
 :o. Thank you Mr. Parker for explaining that.
Was thinking he could have been disc qualified for GBO win...and Steelers Doug..could of claimed..13th place or som..And theewhere in there.
But looking at Steelers Doug's score...He would have been..64th place in the intermediate division..?

tallguy007kc

  • Pro Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 861
    • View Profile
Re: Baggin' it up at Bowling Green?
« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2014, 02:22:17 PM »
:o. Thank you Mr. Parker for explaining that.
Was thinking he could have been disc qualified for GBO win...and Steelers Doug..could of claimed..13th place or som..And theewhere in there.
But looking at Steelers Doug's score...He would have been..64th place in the intermediate division..?

Steeler Doug got plenty of practice with his forehand the last two days of GBO, due to him thinking he was the second (older) coming of Wysocki, and ripping his throwing shoulder apart.
*******************
James McLaughlin
PDGA #39535

Tracy

  • Pro Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 220
    • View Profile
Re: Baggin' it up at Bowling Green?
« Reply #19 on: May 07, 2014, 09:35:07 AM »
That only refers to Major events. Once you take cash in a Pro division you can not play Major Am events. So no Pro Am Worlds basically. Other than that, as long as your rating is low enough, you can play all the Am events you want.


see http://www.pdga.com/rules/competition-manual/section-2-division-qualifications/23-reclassification

An Amateur player is automatically re-classified as Professional when the player has accepted cash while competing in a Professional division. Accepting prizes in lieu of cash payout or accepting money for winning an ancillary contest such as an ace pool, top-of-the-card round prize, or CTP contest does not cause a player to relinquish his or her amateur status.

As far as Tom and that $40 in Pro goes, you'd have to ask him if he accepted cash or prizes there.  I'd hazard to guess it was prizes as he is quite aware of the rules around Pro vs Am classification.

You may not Play in AM Majors as a "Pro Playing as AM" per http://www.pdga.com/files/2014%20PDGA%20Tour%20Standards.pdf
« Last Edit: May 07, 2014, 09:41:13 AM by Tracy »

Tom

  • 1000 Rated Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1941
    • View Profile
Re: Baggin' it up at Bowling Green?
« Reply #20 on: May 14, 2014, 04:53:58 PM »
Yeh, I never took cash in a PDGA event. The PDGA verified that before my Worlds registration was accepted last year.