would have been the Course Director in 2013, not the TD for certain on that.
As it plays, all OB is considered OB, therefore the fact that area is INBOUNDS, it would be considered IB. Now a stipulation could be made (And moving forward may) that extending the West Parking lot area's OB in instances of hole #17 as an OB line could be made, but would have to be declared as such on programs, or covered in players meeting and would have to have a delineation in order to accomplish which COULD mess up people playing on #13.
This is an inherent issue in where we use the same land for multiple holes. Just as throwing say 600' on the hole past the tree on #13 by the basket would still be considered in. Because there is a "connector path" on #13 where it flows continuously it would be considered IB unless otherwise duly noted before the event.
That being said, it is a suck a$$ thing to do and in the scheme of things it should be considered OB for all intents and purposes. It should be known that area is considered OB because, it quite frankly makes sense. However to the letter of the ruling for an unspoken undefined event, yes that would be IB. The future though will prevent that from happening by most in common agreement with the INTENT TO PLAY THE HOLE AS DESIGNED. ****See Jack's face and reaction on Blue Valley after hearing about Nikko and McBeast on #9 and what changed in the future to prevent that from happening****