Author Topic: Put one on top the basket.  (Read 1243 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

CHAS.

  • Am Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Put one on top the basket.
« on: May 04, 2008, 10:16:24 AM »
Put one on top the basket yesterday does count two or one?

CD

  • The "Compact" Disc Player
  • Administrator
  • 1000 Rated Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1555
  • Don't EVER forget to putt out. Period.
    • View Profile
    • http://MOKANdiscgolf.org
Re: Put one on top the basket.
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2008, 10:51:03 AM »
Put one on top the basket yesterday does count two or one?

PDGA Rule 803.13 (B). Disc Entrapment Devices: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains or within one of the entrapment sections. This includes a disc wedged into or hanging from the lower entrapment section but excludes a disc resting on top of, or hanging outside of, the upper entrapment section. The disc must also remain within the chains or entrapment sections until removed.

In plain English: The disc must come to rest supported by or in the basket, or in the chainset. The top of the chain support (or hanging from the chain hangers) does not count. Sorry... add one more.
~CD~
Duane "CD" Steiner
Team INNOVA Ambassador
Independence MO
PDGA #2883; KCFDC #002
Bagtags:
2014: 3, 17, 46, 36, 12, 22, 36, 23, 32, 33, 57
"Sometimes it's better to be looked over than to be overlooked."

jack

  • 1000 Rated Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 7316
    • View Profile
Re: Put one on top the basket.
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2008, 10:26:38 AM »
That is called a DROT (Disc at Rest On Top of basket) and unfortunately does not count.  Now if you were able to stick one in the side of the basket, and retrieve it before it falls, then that counts, but on top of the basket does not count.

SUX, sorry 4 ya.
===o  {>[]----
Jack Lowe-
Parks Development Director for KCFDC
Multiple PDGA Worlds TD
Course Designs
913.485.5123-C
"Disc Golf-
Like ball golf, only faster,
cheaper, and healthier!"

Timko

  • 1000 Rated Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3714
    • View Profile
Re: Put one on top the basket.
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2008, 02:22:32 PM »
That is called a DROT (Disc at Rest On Top of basket) and unfortunately does not count.  Now if you were able to stick one in the side of the basket, and retrieve it before it falls, then that counts, but on top of the basket does not count.

SUX, sorry 4 ya.

If the basket is placed in such a way that the disc is supported by both the basket and an external object (like a basket close to a rock outcropping), then as long as part of the disc is on the inside plane of the basket, then it's considered holed out, provided it's that way when you pick it up.  There was a video on discgolftv.com discussing this.