Author Topic: When is a beginner no longer considered a beginner?  (Read 1955 times)

jpenny44

When is a beginner no longer considered a beginner?
« on: May 19, 2008, 04:21:47 PM »
Hello,

I started playing in February and play 4-5 times a week.  I think that I have gotten considerablly better in the 4 months it has been since I started playing, and can typically shoot a +5 to a +7 out at WW, playing every hole as a 3.  I am going to go play the beginners league tonight for the first time (any league for that matter), but I just wondered if there were any thoughts on when a "beginner" has taken the next step, for lack of a better term?  At what point did the rest of you no longer consider yourself a beginner and started playing in higher leagues?  Was it time spent playing?  Certain score?  just curious.

JP

Timko

• Administrator
  • 1000 Rated Poster
    • View Profile
Re: When is a beginner no longer considered a beginner?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 04:24:56 PM »
It kinda depends on the course.  For example, if Waterworks is in medium settings (some short holes, some long, most medium), I would say to cash in Open you'd need a score in the 48-50 range.  The 50's normally cash in the amateur division there. 

As you begin going to leagues, you'll discover what you have to shoot to cash in a particular division.

On moving up:  If you begin winning the amateur division all the time, or if you win when you played poorly, it's time to move up.

phisherman_77

• 1000 Rated Poster
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 04:35:10 PM »
the beginner's league is a lot of fun and will help you get your feet wet as it pertains to playing in a competitive situation.

some people do well, some people don't do so well when it comes time to actually record the scores for posterity.