Author Topic: All arm drive  (Read 9353 times)

joebquint

All arm drive
« on: December 29, 2008, 06:15:22 PM »
Ok, I know that I am a newbie and that I stink.  My forehand drives, I can send the disc far down the fairway; however, when I throw RHBH, my disc goes nowhere.    After playing with someone who is much better he told me that I am opening up to quickly and just using my arm only.   I am sure that he is correct.  Is there any one who plays at SMP regularly that wouldn't mind hanging out with me for a round.  I would like to be able to throw farther than my wife who doesn't even use the X-step. 

Joe

Timko

• 1000 Rated Poster
Re: All arm drive
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2008, 07:23:29 PM »
Joe, if I have some time this weekend, I would be more than happy to play a round with you.  There are some basic things like grip, weight transfer, and order of events in your throw that, if not happening correctly, can rob you of distance. 

I can give you a link to the site I link to the most when it comes to instruction (http://discgolfreview.com/resources/articles.shtml), but it really helps to have someone explain these things with some visual re-inforcement.  Thankfully, someone who has used these methods put together a short video that is super useful.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nED7gcXobEo

It's probably the most useful on youtube.   The most useless video on youtube for instruction?  This one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u5_I3ylBdjA

Keizer

« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2008, 11:20:30 AM »
Has anyone ever had their drive (or know of anyone who has) recorded on a high-speed camera? Ball golfers have that done all the time to pick apart their driving mechanics, so it must work for picking apart a disc throw as well.

phisherman_77

• 1000 Rated Poster
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2008, 11:22:13 AM »