Author Topic: Beginners League 2010  (Read 1891 times)

Hurrishane

• Am Poster
    • View Profile
Beginners League 2010
« on: April 15, 2010, 04:44:51 PM »
I would like to revive the free beginners league at Rosie on Monday nights. I will attempt to run these weekly minis beginning this coming Monday (April 19) and would like to get people started playing by 5:45 pm, moving the start time to 6 pm on May 3. This league will be open to all disc golfers (begineers and pros alike), and hopefully will be a good opportunity for newer disc golfers to learn the rules and etiquette of league play, in a fun environment. Please tell anyone you know who may be interested about the free beginners league and I look forward to seeing everyone at the 'Dale. I'm also new at this, so if anyone has any advice about running this league or how to attract players, please feel free to give advice.
Shane Whitaker
KCFDC #929

jack

• 1000 Rated Poster
    • View Profile
Re: Beginners League 2010
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2010, 11:49:20 AM »
Keep it simple.

Keep stats.

Mix up the cards (have seasoned people play with new people)

Don't let "cliques" run the event, you do.

Keep it fun, you could also do a $1 ace fund only, and keep that going all year...

I had fun running it about 10 years ago for a couple of years, its a good thing, glad to hear you are doing it!
===o  {>[]----
Jack Lowe-
Parks Development Director for KCFDC
Multiple PDGA Worlds TD
Course Designs
913.485.5123-C
"Disc Golf-
Like ball golf, only faster,
cheaper, and healthier!"

Kevin Montgomery

• Administrator
  • 1000 Rated Poster
  • Nice shot!
    • View Profile
    • http://kcfdc.org
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2010, 12:36:47 AM »
Excellent. Thanks for stepping up and keeping this going. I'll add this to the league schedule if you PM me any contact info you want listed.
Kevin Montgomery
Eschew Obfuscation
KCFDC #117
PDGA# 12037
http://www.kcfdc.org

Hurrishane

• Am Poster
    • View Profile