General > Beginners

Old and new

(1/4) > >>

Mick:
Hi everybody. I'm an old guy who just started playing and  I'm new to the game. (old Frisbee player)  I have been going to Legecy and P-Hill. Wow I'm addicted and started this as a way to loss weight but have found a new love. The best part is everyone I have ran in to has been very nice and friendly. I really liked the way I was treated at DGW and the poeple I have encountered on the courses have been great.

I would like to say Thank You to the young man that helped me out at P-Hill on Saturday, it helped me put another 40/50 feet to my throw. I'm still working on it.

If you see me out on the courses, give me a break. I'm old and fat and very out of shape but am enjoying my time on the field. I have the summers off and have been going out in the mornings to beat the heat.

Here is what I need to know. I have Par'ed a few baskets and wondered how far do they figure a throw is to make a Par? A 215 ft is Par 3 and a 450 is Par4. How is this figured?

Thank you
Mick

Utz:
Honestly there are a few "magic" recipes that some use to determine par. such as Close Range Par or Traditional Par. explained here.
In my opinion its a matter of how many legitimate throws it takes for someone to hole out. With this logic distance doesn't always dictate the # for par. Determining factors include foliage, elevation, distance and the relationship between tee/pin (think dog-leg, or other defined mandos)

Mike Hyzer:
Mick, welcome to the sport and to the great KC disc golf community.

Mick:
Thanks, after reading the internet tips.  I think until I get comfortable with playing, I'm not going to worry about a score. I'm doing OK to keep the disc in the fairway and out of the weeds.  I read more then once about control vs. distance. Watching others throw , I wanted more then I am capable of. First things first, Pleasent Hill has Rec Par and I need to stick to that.