Author Topic: Do you play any of the Leagues?  (Read 1704 times)

Warren

Do you play any of the Leagues?
« on: July 12, 2006, 05:13:09 PM »
Just curious what percent of forum readers play leagues vs. informal recreational play.  Are there a bunch of intermediate disc golfers in the KC area that for some reason don't want to play league nights?

phisherman_77

• 1000 Rated Poster
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2006, 05:37:26 PM »
i'd like to play, but i'm a beginner and don't have the time after work to get out to rosedale from lee's summit for the beginner's league..

i'm not against competing with much better players, but i'd like to feel like i'm going to be a little bit competitive as opposed to feeling like i'm just handing money to the best open players because not enough beginners showed up to warrant an intermediate class

edit to add-i do play recreationally a few times a week, usually swope and i've got a basket that i tote around to LS parks for makeshift rounds

bp

jack

• 1000 Rated Poster
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2006, 08:06:42 AM »
playing against better players only gives you ideas on how to play better, and improve your own game.  Leagues are a great way to cheaply improve your game, find people that will give you pointers, and meet some new great golfers.

Jack
===o  {>[]----
Jack Lowe-
Parks Development Director for KCFDC
Multiple PDGA Worlds TD
Course Designs
913.485.5123-C
"Disc Golf-
Like ball golf, only faster,
cheaper, and healthier!"

phisherman_77

• 1000 Rated Poster
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2006, 09:40:05 AM »
i know it would make me better, playing better players never hurts

i guess i just wanna figure some stuff out for myself before i go out and try to actually compete

bp

The Bird Father

• 1000 Rated Poster
  • WOOT! WOOT!
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2006, 09:46:17 AM »